Did you know?

That fresh Ivory soap looks like this when you microwave it?

20130122-083527.jpg

I didn’t either!

There’s actually a point to all this. For years now I’ve wanted to make my own laundry detergent. About a year ago I bought a very large container of laundry detergent from costco, mostly for the bucket it came in. Now that I have used almost all of it, I decided it is time to make my own. I used this recipe. But, when I went to purchase all my ingredients, I only picked up one bar of fels naptha. I didn’t have the link with me and I was just guessing. However, I’d been reading that I could use ivory soap in place of the fels naptha. THEN I came across an instructional video on putting fresh ivory soap in the microwave. Once it is done puffing up, it cools and crumbles into powder. Well, that is a ton easier than shredding the fels naptha soap even if I am using my food processor. The bonus? Bug could do that part and enjoyed it immensely. So, we enjoyed our time making our detergent quite a bit. The only other change in the recipe I made was that I only used 1 container of the fabric softener crystals. I don’t love the scent of the fabric softener, nor do I love the feel of clothes with fabric softener, so I figured one container would be more than enough. We have yet to try this to see how it works.

20130122-183143.jpg

 

 

(My very large container of homemade laundry soap)

I then moved on to making our own dishwasher detergent. That was super easy. 1 cup borax, 1 cup washing soda, 1/4 cup salt and 1/4 cup citric acid. I put it in a glass canning jar and mixed it all up. It worked a dream actually. The recipe I saw said to add essential oils, but I didn’t figure it needed to smell to work, and my basic recipe worked great in my machine.

Both of these items were super easy to make, it really took no time at all. If they work, the process is here to stay.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Did you know?

  1. Just made some a week or so ago…we used 2 bars of fels naptha…you can put that in the microwave too…then we just put it in the blender with the washing soap….makes a fine powder and works really well too!

Leave a Reply

